Board Members

Robert M. (“Rob”) Johnson, Chair, has been an attorney in Alaska for over 40 years.  In private practice, Mr. Johnson was outside counsel for ARMB since its inception in 2005 until he recently retired from full-time practice.  He also was sole outside counsel for ARMB’s predecessor entities, the Alaska State Pension Investment Board and the PERS and TRS board.  Mr. Johnson’s law practice included many matters of state-wide importance including Exxon Valdez litigation, public sector labor disputes under the Public Employees Relations Act, and multi-year controversies involving valuation of the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System.  His public employment included tenures as an assistant attorney general and director of petroleum revenue.  Mr. Johnson received his law degree from Stanford and a BA in history from Claremont McKenna College.

Gayle W. Harbo, Secretary, retired after teaching mathematics in Fairbanks for 25 years. She also served as math department chair, as advanced placement coordinator, on the district curriculum, evaluation and budget committees, and twice as chair of the Lathrop Self-Evaluation for Accreditation Committee. Ms. Harbo is a member of Alpha Delta Kappa, AARP, National Retired Teachers of Alaska, Fairbanks Retired Teachers Association, National Council of Teacher Retirement Systems, NCTR Education Committee, and the Alaska Teachers' Retirement Board. She is also a co-manager of a family trust. Ms. Harbo was named Alaska Teacher of the Year in 1989. She holds a BS in Mathematics from North Carolina State University, and a Masters in Teaching from the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, and has completed an additional 40 hours in mathematics, counseling, law and finance.

Lorne Bretz was appointed by Governor Dunleavy in March 2019. Lorne immigrated to Alaska in 1992, and with its vast beauty, it quickly became home. Volunteering in the community, hiking and off-road adventuring are some of Lorne's favorite hobbies. Mr. Bretz is the Plan Administrator for the Municipality of Anchorage Retiree Medical Funding Program Trust for Police Officers and Firefighters. He has a Masters in Business Administration, a Retirement Plans Associate designation and is a Certified Financial Planner professional. He has a passion for finances and a desire to support the needs of retirees and future retirees of the state he calls home.

Allen Hippler was appointed by Governor Dunleavy in March 2019. Allen Hippler is a Vice President of Commercial Lending at Northrim Bank, where he specializes in underwriting loans for Alaskan businesses. He has almost two decades of experience working in finance throughout the state, most notably Wasilla, Bethel, and Anchorage. Mr. Hippler has chaired the City of Bethel finance committee; was elected to and served on the Bethel City Council, and was named one of Alaska’s ‘Top Forty under Forty’ in 2009. He is active with the Alaska Chamber of Commerce, and currently is Vice Chairman of that organization. Previous service to the State of Alaska includes working as a Commissioner of the Alaska Health Care Commission. Mr. Hippler holds a BA in Economics from the University of Dallas.

Lucinda Mahoney, Commissioner of the Department of Revenue, was appointed by Governor Dunleavy in February 2020. More details coming soon...

Kelly Tshibaka, Commissioner of the Department of Administration, was appointed by Governor Dunleavy in January 2019. Kelly Tshibaka is a born and raised Alaskan, having graduated from Stellar Secondary School in Anchorage in 1995. She has over sixteen years of leadership experience in federal government and intelligence oversight roles, including in audits, investigations, complex reviews, data analytics, and executive management. Most recently she was the Chief Data Officer for the United States Postal Service Office of the Inspector General where she was part of the executive team responsible for oversight of the US Postal Service, an agency with more than $70 Billion in annual revenue, $13 Billion in contracts, and 620,000 employees. Prior to that, she was the Acting Inspector General of the Federal Trade Commission, served as legal counsel to the Inspector General of the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, and performed sensitive reviews at the Department of Justice Office of the Inspector General. Tshibaka has dedicated her public service career to improving government agencies’ efficiency and effectiveness. Tshibaka has a J.D. from Harvard Law School and a B.A. from Texas A&M University.

Norman West, CPA, is the Chief Financial Officer at Alaska USA Federal Credit Union with over 30 years of experience with employee benefit plans and management of large fixed income securities portfolios of $200 million to $1 billion. Mr. West is responsible for the investment of the Credit Union’s fixed income portfolio as well as accounting and related activities. He served on the boards of the Credit Union subsidiaries, including Alaska USA Mortgage, Alaska USA Trust Company, Alaska USA Insurance Brokers, and served as a trustee on the Alaska USA Federal Credit Union’s defined benefit plan. Prior to his Alaska USA employment, Mr. West was the Trust Controller and Chief Investment Officer for the Alaska Teamsters Employer Service Corp., the administrator for the union’s benefit plans. He previously practiced as a CPA in Alaska, Arizona and Texas, and received training as an ERISA specialist in 1977. He has been active for many years in professional organizations as a member, officer and presenter, and served as a volunteer in church and Boy Scouts most of his adult life. Mr. West is a graduate of Brigham Young University with a B.S. in Accounting. He resides in Palmer and is the father of eleven children.

Bob Williams began his teaching career as a Peace Corps teacher in Gambia, Africa. He is a nationally board certified teacher, (NBCT, Math – AYA) and currently teaches Calculus and Geometry at Colony High School in Palmer. Mr. Williams is the Alaska 2009 Teacher of the Year, served as the president of the Alaska Council of Teachers of Mathematics from 2011-2013, and is the recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics Teaching. He was one of five national recipients of the 2010 Horace Mann Teaching Excellence award and is a 2012 Aspen Teacher Leader Fellow. Mr. Williams has a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, an M.A. in Mathematics Education from Columbia University, and an M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from the University of Alaska, Anchorage

Dennis Moen, more details coming soon...