REPORTING UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

OVERVIEW

What is Unclaimed Property?
	Unclaimed Property consists of tangible and intangible property that has been abandoned, such as:
	· Bank accounts
· Wages
· Refunds
	· Utility deposits
· Insurance proceeds
· Stocks
	· Bonds
· Safe Deposit Box 
· And others



Who is a “Holder” of Unclaimed Property?
Any business entity in possession of unclaimed property is a potential holder. 
· Banks, insurance companies, utilities, corporations, partnerships, LLCs, sole-proprietorships, government agencies, and not for profit organizations
· Estates and trusts
· Universities

When is Property Considered Abandoned or Unclaimed?
[bookmark: _GoBack]	By law, the property is considered abandoned or unclaimed when there is no documented transaction or contact between the owner and holder for a period of time, known as a dormancy period.
The Dormancy Period and Holder Responsibilities
A dormancy period can be between one and 15 years, depending on the property type. If the holder is in possession of unclaimed property, they are required to perform “due diligence,” which is a process that involves an attempt to locate rightful property owners.

If the holder is unsuccessful in locating the owners, the holder is required to remit the property, along with a report, to the Alaska Department of Revenue.

HOLDER REPORTING PROCESS

1st - Is your business holding unclaimed property?
	Businesses, organizations, and any other entities in possession of unclaimed property are considered a “Holder”. Common types of unclaimed property include: savings/checking accounts, uncashed checks e.g. payroll, utility deposits, refunds, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, or safe deposit box contents.

2nd - Determine if the property has been inactive or dormant for the appropriate dormancy period.


(cont)

	The type of property reported will determine how long property must remain abandoned to be considered unclaimed property. Dormancy periods range from one to fifteen years.  Please reference the “Property Codes” tab in the
AK Reporting Workbook (Excel) 

3rd – Due Diligence
	Alaska law requires holders to make a diligent effort to locate owners with property of $100 or more. The holder must send a written notice to the apparent owner at the owner’s last known address informing the owner that the holder is in possession of property subject to escheat to the State of Alaska. 
4th – Prepare Report
	Holders must report unclaimed property for owners with a last known address in Alaska or the money order, cashier check or traveler check were purchased in the Alaska.
	If you are reporting more than ten items you must report electronically. Please see the Reporting Unclaimed Property section of our website http://www.unclaimedproperty.alaska.gov
   Ten or fewer items can be reported on a paper report. Complete paper reports consist of two forms; 04-720A and 04-720B, and a check, or ACH transaction can be used to remit the unclaimed property. In the case of securities, a copy of the account statement or other confirmation documentation. The two forms can be found in the AK Reporting Workbook AK Reporting Workbook (Excel). 
5th – File Report Before November 1
Completed reports are due before November 1. Reports without remittance or appropriate forms will be deemed incomplete and returned to the Holder.
SEND REPORTS WITH *REMITTANCE TO:

MAILING ADDRESS				PHYSICAL ADDRESS
Alaska Department of Revenue		Alaska Department of Revenue
Unclaimed Property Program			Unclaimed Property Program 
P.O. Box 110405				333 Willoughby Avenue, 11th Floor
Juneau, AK 99811-0405			Juneau, AK 99801

REPORTING CONSIDERATIONS

(cont)

*Remittance - make payable to: Alaska Department of Revenue, Unclaimed Property Program
*Security Remittances e.g. dividend reinvestment plans, mutual funds, book entry shares, and stock must include a confirmation of transfer or a statement indicating the transfer.
*Negative Reports are not required 
*Interest-bearing accounts - must be clearly identified with a Y in the Interest column of the holder report. Otherwise leave the field blank.
*Floppy Diskettes and Magnetic Tapes are not accepted   
CONTACT US
Telephone: 907-465-3726
Facsimile: 907-465-2394
E-Mail: ucproperty@alaska.gov
